So ‘Why Watch Wildlife?’

This blog is my attempt to argue for more people to get out and enjoy the wonderful natural world around us. I’ve been watching wildlife, and enjoying the great outdoors, in the UK and Europe for nearly 30 years, and think we should all get out there.

Tree Pipit, Spurn Point, May 2012

It’s also about ‘Garden Wildlife’, what we can see, how we can see more, and how we can make gardens, even yards, more friendly for visiting wildlife.

Many of the posts will be about my own trips out, and what I’ve seen. I’ll also talk about conservation, about news relating to the natural world, and about science in general. I’ll also try and talk you into getting outside with your friends and family, or suggest ways you can do more when out there. At times I’ll be on my soap-box, over ‘greenwashing’, or bad political decisions that impact on wildlife. Hopefully you’ll bear with me.

Baby House Sparrows, Leeds

As much as possible, I’ll use my own photos here (both the pics in this post are mine). I’m not a professional photographer, and I’m not a brilliant amateur, but again that’s not the point. I think it’s good fun to record what you see when you can, so hopefully my own efforts will encourage you.

I’ll also flag up books I think are worth reading (if any publishers want to send me review copies 😉 ), and TV and radio programmes that seem worth watching.

I don’t claim to be an expert, there are better people than me out there. That’s not what this blog is about. It’s about enthusiasm for the natural world, and our role within it. I hope you enjoy reading this blog, I hope you share your own experiences (and blogs), and maybe you’ll even be moved to get involved.

David

This entry was posted in About the blog, Birds. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So ‘Why Watch Wildlife?’

  1. Pingback: Get Involved – National Nestbox Week | Why watch wildlife?

  2. Pingback: So you want to be a birdwatcher… Part 4 A few final thoughts | Why watch wildlife?

  3. Pingback: Monday Bird of the Week No.13 – The Blue Tit | Why watch wildlife?

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

