Snowtracks – Not a lot of luck!

Well, as I said yesterday, I went out to see if I could see much in the snow in Leeds. Sadly, we’ve not really had the promised snow here, so there’s just a light, compacted layer. So it’s mainly dogs and their walkers. But here are a couple of images I did grab:

SONY DSC

Brown Rat (Rattus norveigicus) foot print

There’d been a bit of rat action around, and the pic above was about the clearest single print I could find. But there were signs of some indecipherable action too:

Somebody has done something here...

Somebody has done something here…

There’s rat and dog in there, though I don’t think at the same time. I suspect the rat was having a dig about, trying to find some food.

The rat tracks led to a woodpile, and there were various scratches, as well as bird prints, to be found there:

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

So, plenty of action there, but hard to really figure out who or what! Hopefully if we get more snow tonight or tomorrow, I can sneak out and get some more interesting pictures. There are foxes around us and I’d like to get them snapped.

This entry was posted in Birds, Mammals, Tracks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snowtracks – Not a lot of luck!

  1. Pingback: Sunday morning birdwatching – Local woodland | Why watch wildlife?

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

