The Big Garden Birdwatch – My results

As promised, the results of my BGB efforts…

Yesterday at about 3pm I settled down with a cup of tea for an hour’s garden bird watching. It was an odd one.

For the vast majority of the hour, there was nothing. But in one five minute spell, simultaneously, there was:

3 Blackbirds (1 male, 2 female)

4 House Sparrows (2m 2f)

4 Long-tailed Tits

2 Blue Tits

1 Dunnock

1 Robin

I saw a couple of magpies too (nothing on the 21 I saw in a single tree the other day), and the dunnock and blackbirds popped back, but that was the count.

I’ve submitted my results HERE, and if you haven’t yet, there’s still time!

Incidentally I had a look today too, in the wind, post-melt. Nothing. Not a dickie bird (literally). Amazing how 24 hours could skew results that way.

This entry was posted in Birds. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Big Garden Birdwatch – My results

  1. Pingback: Big Garden Birdwatch 2014 | Why watch wildlife?

  2. Pingback: Big Garden Birdwatch 2015 | Why watch wildlife?

  3. Pingback: A finch-tastic prelude to the Big Garden Birdwatch | Why watch wildlife?

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

