Scotland day one – York-Onich

image

First long journey I’ve driven (shared with my Dad), which makes me feel like I’ve earned my driving spurs. A few challenging moments (big truck, bridge, narrow road, and on a bend…) but I have a new level of confidence.

Notable on the drive up how few birds of prey we saw. Not one. Oddly though, lots of Oystercatchers from the A66 and M6, including many perched on fence posts, which is a new one on me.

Reached our bed and breakfast in Onich in about 7 hours, with an hour in Penrith for food. Had a walk along the shore of Loch Linnhe when we got here. Pairs of Oystercatchers and Ringed Plover just near the croft. Both were noisily distracting us, so must have had nests nearby. The Plover was even doing the full “look at me, I’m sick, my wing is broken” number to draw us off. I don’t like upsetting nesting birds, so we moved away pretty quickly. I will pop back early tomorrow though and try get some pictures.

There were also Meadow and Rock Pipits, Redpoll, Black Guillemot, and Common Gull.

Tomorrow we head early for the ferry to Ardnamurchan, to our campsite near Strontian, and then we’ll plan the next few days.

David

This entry was posted in Birds, Scotland. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scotland day one – York-Onich

  1. Pingback: Mull and Ardnamurchan Part 6 – Visiting Scotland | Why watch wildlife?

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

