Garden wildlife update – Blackbirds, robins and bees

Since the wrens left we’ve had no further sightings. But a local pair of robins has become incredibly prominent instead. One in particular is rapidly following that robin-path towards being tame. It happily sits and watches me put food out, and rarely waits for me to leave before tucking in. I’ve seen it weighing up whether to just take the food while it’s in my hand, and I wouldn’t be surprised if it does this before the end of the year.

We’ve had blackbird drama too. As well as one baby blackbird, we’ve had an unwell adult male. He sat on the fence, unmoving, for a full 24 hour day. At first I’d assumed it was heat-related, but when I saw him moving around the next day he was carrying his right wing at an odd angle, and limping on the same side. There is a sparrowhawk around, and it’s possible the blackbird had a close encounter. Fortunately, he seems to be recovering.

We have another male blackbird around with white flight feathers. I’m going to get a photo and share it as soon as I can.

We’d noticed odd semi-circular holes appearing on the edge of a number of leaves of garden plants. Finally we have tracked this down to the action of leaf-cutter bees. I’ve spotted them carrying rolled-up leaf cuttings under the shed roof. This solitary species will pulp the leaf up and use it for laying eggs.

I’ve realised it’s been a while since I checked on the water voles, so I’m going to have a look for them this weekend, hopefully with photos to follow!

This entry was posted in Birds, Ethology, Invertebrates. Bookmark the permalink.

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

