Watching wildlife from the train

On Saturday I had to go down to Birmingham for a conference. This meant a two-and-a-half hour train journey. As boring as that can be, I enjoy a long train journey as long as I have the light as it offers up a great opportunity to watch some wildlife.

On one front it was a disappointing trip. Not a single bird of prey. Having once seen five species on a single journey (Buzzard, Kestrel, Sparrowhawk, Peregrine, Merlin), that’s a real surprise. I can’t remember the last big train (or car) journey were I didn’t at least see a Buzzard.

On the other hand, passing by a small lake I spotted two Little Egret, a small flock of Teal, plenty of Whooper Swans, and a Grey Heron. Plenty of Redwing and Fieldfare about too.

Down in Birmingham I managed to get some great close-up views of Crows, Rooks, and Redwings. Found my first Great-Spotted Woodpecker of the year too.

Back home we’ve had the first Bullfinch of 2014 in the garden. No more Redpolls yet, nor any Siskins. But I’m sure they are around.

This entry was posted in Birds. Bookmark the permalink.

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

