50 birds in January

My bit of travelling around the country for work has bumped up my list of birds seen this year. I’ve now hit 50 species before January is out, which isn’t bad going considering I’ve not really been anywhere birding this year. But most of them are the 20-30 species we see round us all the time, so it’s not a rate I’ll maintain!

Recent trips have added the likes of Little Egret, assorted gulls, and Short-Eared Owl to the count. I’m dating the first sighting of each species this time, as that’ll allow me to see such things over years as to when they arrive.

Of course, the full-on hardcore twitchers will be well past 100 already and thinking about 300 or 400 across the year. Given I’ve no Scotland trip this year, I don’t expect to pass the 115 from 2013. As always, if I get to see birds I know behaving in different ways, I’m happy.

This entry was posted in Birds, Phenology. Bookmark the permalink.

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

