30 Days Wild – Day 4 – Wild Lunch

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_04

It occurs to me the title could be misleading here. I assure you, I’ve not been ‘eating the cast’!

With the weather so glorious today, I went for a stroll round Heslington Lake during lunch, as I do with pretty high regularity.

While walking round the lake though, a thought process took over and led to what ended up being today’s activity. It went like this:

“There are a couple of Blue Tits in that tree…”

“When did I last climb a tree?”

“I should climb a tree this weekend…”

“I should climb a tree now…”

“I could eat my lunch hidden in a tree…”

So that’s what I did. I found a tree away from anywhere people would be passing, hauled myself a decent way into the canopy, and propped myself along a branch, leaning against the trunk, to eat in peace and a dabbled greenish light.

As a bonus to this lovely 20 minute interlude, a family of Long-tailed Tits came passing through, barely paying me any attention as they clicked, chirped and peeped their way past.

A new experience, and one I’m sure to repeat. Also a good bit of green exercise.

Incidentally, you may have noticed the 30 Days Wild logos that have been added to the posts. If you’d like to sign up and blog ‘officially’ for 30 Days Wild, email the Wildlife Trust.

5

This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, Green exercise and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

