The sounds of the woodland

While this is a video, it’s not the visuals that matter here.

The focus is fixed so the images intentionally blur as the camera pans around. Why? Because this video is actually about sound.

Any long term reader will know how passionate I am about the value and importance of listening to wildlife. In many ways this blog is badly titled!

The blur of images matches the initial blur of sound that is multiple birds from multiple species singing, calling, sounding alarms.

Blackcap, Great, Blue and Long-tailed Tits, Chiffchaff, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Robin, Dunnock and others are all present in this wood, and many can be heard here. Anyone want to try suggest what they can here?

Tomorrow I’ll have a new post on what I saw in this same wood. In the meanwhile, the comments section is open to anyone who wants to suggest IDs.


The Canal and River Trust have a new campaign called Stop, Look and Listen that highlights how many people feel they lack knowledge of nature, and the surprisingly high number of adults that cannot identify even basic bird sounds.

This entry was posted in Birds. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The sounds of the woodland

  1. Tony says:

    Indeed, listening is a most vital ingredient in getting the best out of Mother Nature. I especially never tire of listening to bird sounds in Spring. On your particular recording, I believe I can hear the following.

    Chiffchaff, Blackbird, Blackcap, Garden Warbler, Wren, Chaffinch, Crow and potentially a brief Song Thrush and distant Cuckoo.

    All the best.

    Tony Powell and naturestimeline

    • David says:

      Wow. I’ve not seen Garden Warbler round here but I can’t rule it out.
      Cuckoo is very unlikely but I’ll have another listen myself.

      The rest, as I’ll cover tomorrow, very well identified.

      • Tony says:

        I did up the volume somewhat and listened to it several times in succession. As a bespectacled birder, I suspect I overcompensate with my ears as a result, though that is a never a bad thing as you’ve suggested in your post. I shall look forward to tomorrow.

        • David says:

          I rely hugely on my ears for birding. I do also wear glasses but my eyesight with them is sharp. But so many clues come from what you first hear.

  2. Pingback: The sights and sounds of an English wood, New Earswick May 2016 | Why watch wildlife?

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

