30 Days Wild – 30 habitats?

30days

This June the Wildlife Trusts are once again running their wonderful ’30 Days Wild’ campaign. If you don’t know it, you can read more and sign up HERE. I highly recommend it, and you can find all my posts from last year HERE.

This year I’m entertaining the notion of trying something different, and probably over-ambitious. I want to blog on a different habitat every day. Not in the hypothetical, I need to go to these places and take pictures. So I want  your help.

I’m setting myself some rules. I don’t intend trekking around the country; I live in York and want to try find 30 different environments in that area to show the diversity you can find locally. But please don’t let that stop you commenting, I want a big bank of ideas. So you suggest the habitat, it’s my job to find it local to me. They can be big broad types of habitat like ‘Forest’, or micro-niches like a particular patch of plants, or habitats within habitats that create specific conditions. I’m not looking for specific places, just ideas of the type of thing I could look at.

I have some ideas of my own, but I want to open this up and hopefully get some ideas I won’t otherwise think of. So please, all readers, 30 Days Wild bloggers, whoever, pop your suggestions in the comments and we’ll see if I can make your ideas make the cut!

This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 30 Days Wild – 30 habitats?

  1. Do a land based dolphin watch! While most people think of heading out on a boat to see dolphins – and obviously this is a great option too- there are many places in the UK where you can observe whales, dolphins and porpoises from land. It’s free and requires very little in the way of equipment, all you need is a bit of patience, weather proof clothing and maybe some binoculars or a spotting scope. Over 28 species of cetaceans have been sighted in the UK, with 13 species regularly occurring in our waters.
    Watches should be at least 30 minutes to allow time to reliably spot animals and can be as long as you like. Look out for ripples in the water, splashes, diving birds and of course dorsal fins slicing through the water.
    For more information on how to watch and where to watch in the UK, check out the Sea Watch website:
    http://www.seawatchfoundation.org.uk/how-to-watch/
    http://www.seawatchfoundation.org.uk/where-to-watch/
    The Sea Watch Foundation is a nationwide conservation charity aiming to study and conserve UK whales, dolphins and porpoises through a mixture of dedicated scientific surveys and citizen science as well as raising public awareness for cetacean conservation issues.
    If you are thinking about doing a systematic watch, please consider downloading an ‘effort form’ from the Sea Watch website to log your efforts and sending in a copy of it, whether you see anything or not! All effort data is valuable to us and allows us to gain a better understanding of the distribution of cetaceans around the UK.

    Good luck and happy watching, you never know, you might luck out and spot a bowhead whale like some recent beachgoers in Cornwall!

    • David says:

      Thanks Katrin. What I’ve deliberately left off the post above is that I’m actually in Cornwall for part of June, so this may well be a good option while there.

  2. Emily Scott says:

    I don’t know the area round York, but perhaps an allotment, a river bank, a hedgerow, a park, a garden?

  3. Katy Appleton says:

    I just realised I misread your comment about finding these locally – these are very much local to me in Norfolk and may not be available near you, but here you go anyway and good luck finding local versions! Alder carr woodland and managed reedbeds; Breckland sandy heaths and pingos; saltmarsh.

  4. Mark Coates says:

    What about limestone pavement at Malham

  5. Mark Coates says:

    Sessile Oak upland wood, eg The Strid aBolton Abbey

  6. Mark Coates says:

    Lowland Fen – eg Askham Bog

  7. Mark Coates says:

    Limestone Grassland – eg Brockadale Nature Reserve, great for orchids and butterflies, particularly at the end of the month when Marble Whites are common.

  8. Ruth Mewis says:

    How about a chalk stream at Snakeholm pastures, http://www.ywt.org.uk/reserves/snakeholm-pastures.

  9. naomim says:

    What about a place that nature has reclaimed, like a quarry, gravel pit or ruined building, even a patch of waste land. My other ideas would be lowland Heath, lots of this near to me on Berkshire/ Surrey but not sure about in Yorkshire, ancient woodland, chalk grassland, a hazel coppice, arable field edges, field boundaries- hedges, dry stone walls, Cornish hedges etc, estuary, lake/ pond, upland moor, meadow.

    I like this challenge, I’m going to see how many different habitats I can visit during my 30dayswild,not sure I’ll manage thirty though!

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

