30 Days Wild – Day 21 – Lunch amongst the rabbits

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_21It’s mildly ironic that the tag for Day 21 features as a fox, as I’m featuring his favourite foodstuff; the rabbit.The university campus has a healthy population of rabbits, and currently there are numerous tiny kits frolicking about too. But over lunch I decided to sit and eat on the same patch of greenery the rabbits like to sunbathe in. My hope was they would sit out if I stayed quiet and still.

Safe by the tree

Safe by the tree

It wasn’t a roaring success, most fled as soon as I snuck up. But they didn’t go far and several stayed sat out, at a wary distance.

_DSC7283 (1280x852)

The group have some interesting colour variations such as this exceptional light, almost ginger, rabbit.

_DSC7235 (1280x852)

It wasn’t just the rabbits. I sat myself into the branches of a tree and, after waiting patiently, a small number of chiffchaffs were flitting around not six feet from my head.

To top it all off, I heard an explosion of calling Long-tailed Tits, looked up, and a group of 30-40, maybe more, went twittering past. Glorious.

No photos of the birds, but a few more of the bunnies.

_DSC7259 (1280x852)

This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, Birds, Mammals. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Days Wild – Day 21 – Lunch amongst the rabbits

  1. Emily Scott says:

    I saw a tiny baby rabbit by the side of a path recently. It was so young it didn’t run off and just sat quietly eating in the undergrowth. Beautiful.

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

