The world’s least subtle hunting technique

If I sit really still...

Many birds of prey are master hunters, capable of deploying speed, stealth and agility in a lethal combination that spells death for smaller birds and mammals. And then there’s this guy…

If I sit really still...

If I sit really still…

Opting for the less subtle technique of sitting on the feeders, hoping nobody notices. To cut a long story short, it didn’t work. He sat there for ten minutes, then left when someone walked past the hedge.

Most likely he had a go at something on the feeders, missed, so stopped to recalibrate.

On the upside he did sit there for quite some time, which was a treat. Although he wouldn’t turn round to show the full glory of his plumage.

Can't see you, so you can't see me

Can’t see you, so you can’t see me

About the best view was the one I got when I first spotted him, but I hadn’t set up to take a picture then so it’s not the greatest quality.

A flash of orange

A flash of orange

It was a lovely bonus nonetheless as the Sparrowhawks rarely sit still like this, and he was clearly in glorious condition.

This entry was posted in Birds and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

