My highlights of 2016 – Part 1

_dsc6853This is massively self-indulgent, so I hope you will forgive me. Feel free to ignore in fact. But these are my favourite ten photos that I took last year.Every year I make a wildlife calendar for family and friends. I do it because it’s fun looking back through the pictures you have taken, remembering the highlights, and because they genuinely seem to like it. I’m not so vain as to ever consider it’d be something to sell, but it’s a pleasurable activity.

So, this year I thought I’d share a few of the pictures I enjoy most, my personal top ten. So in chronological order:

  1. Nacreous clouds over York

_dsc3229

Why? Because it’s a phenomena not seen often away from the poles, something I’ve seen twice in my life at this sort of level. The sky was like a rainbow oil slick.

2. Great-crested Grebe with Perch

11nov1

Why? When he popped up with the fish I was sure he’d be straight off. Instead he stayed beneath me while he turned and ultimately swallowed the unlucky fish.

3. Car park Kestrel

_dsc4659

Why? Because he was such a regular sight in the first few months of the year, never cared that I watched him, yet never gave up his nest.

4. Steely-eyed Jackdaw

_dsc4916

Why? Just look at him. That’s why.

5. Glossy Rook

_dsc6853

Why? A bird that is often dismissed as ugly, here showing his sheen, and also looking back with all the intelligence a corvid can bring.

 

My highlights of 2016 – Part 2

 

This entry was posted in Birds, Invertebrates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My highlights of 2016 – Part 1

  1. Fantastic! Looking forward to part 2.

  2. bryansitch says:

    Love the delicate clouds @mcrmuseum

  3. Beautiful and impressive. Great idea to highlight your achievements.

  4. Emily Scott says:

    The clouds are spectacular.

  5. Pingback: My highlights of 2016 – Part 2 | Why watch wildlife?

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

