My highlights of 2016 – Part 2

10oct1We resume the rundown here, and even cheat just a little bit…

6. Highland Cow

_dsc7339

Why? Okay, not exactly a wild animal. But there was something joyous about seeing it wade in there, spooking the gulls.

7. Four-spotted Chaser

_dsc7705

Why? Never mind 2016, if I was listing what I considered the best photos I’d ever taken, this would be in there.

8. Hornet

05may

Why? A magnificent insect, so often a source of fear, but here it has an alien beauty and gymnastic grace.

Incidentally #6-8 all came from the same day at North Cave Wetlands, one of my new favourite places.

9. Sunset over a power station

20160914_180131

Why? I could make this political, that I was making an artistically framed point about the need for the sun to set on fossil fuel dependence. But the reality is I was just delighted to get such a striking image, with my mobile phone, from a moving train!

10. Grey Squirrel

10oct1

Why? I’m pretty negative about Grey Squirrels, but they do know how to strike a pose. This one had real nonchalance about it, despite hanging upside down.

11. Common Darter

08august

Why? Why eleven? Because I couldn’t decide between two different dragonfly pictures! For this particular picture it’s because when I posted it back in August I wrote “it’s like they want to be in the 2016 calendar”, and they made it.


So there we have it. I promise not to be this self-indulgent again, at least for 12 months anyway. Of the eleven images picked here, only three made the actual calendar selection. Sometimes what works on screen doesn’t work as well in print.

If you missed part 1, you can see it here: My highlights of 2016 – Part 1

This entry was posted in Birds, Invertebrates, Mammals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My highlights of 2016 – Part 2

  1. Pingback: My highlights of 2016 – Part 1 | Why watch wildlife?

  2. Emily Scott says:

    Wonderful how the light was shining down on the power station like that. You’re right, there is something joyful about the cow.

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

