30 Days Wild – Day 4 – Bonus content!

Because why should I be restricted to highlighting one moment a day, of a great moment presents itself?A couple of years back we planted a Buddleia alternifolia, a slightly different form to the B.davidii you see in abundance across the country.

When I was growing up my maternal grandmother (‘Grandma Apple Trees’) had an absolutely mountainous Buddleia in the back garden. This thing reached for the sky and blotted out the sun, or so it seemed to me as a small boy.

In my memory it was always covered in butterflies, hundreds of them, constantly. Again, this may be a filter of nostalgia colouring the image. But there were definitely days with Tortoiseshell, Peacock, Red Admiral, and a variety of Whites.

The Buddleia in bloom

I’ve had buddleias in gardens since, but never replicated that ‘build and they will come’ moment. But this is the first year this bush has really come into full and glorious bloom. So will the butterflies flock?

So far, no. But that doesn’t mean it’s a disappointment. At no point, anywhere I’ve lived, have I ever had a Painted Lady in the garden…until this afternoon when this fresh and beautiful lady landed.

Painted Lady

I sprinted for my camera, but need not have bothered with such efforts as she actually hung around taking advantage of the ready supply of nectar.

So, not the numbers, but the impact of a single individual can be just as good a moment. Well worth celebrating.

This entry was posted in 30 Days Wild, Botany, conservation, Gardening, Invertebrates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

