Aye, aye skipper

A few weeks back I was complaining about the inability of Small Skippers to ever stay still and let me take a photo. Happily that has now changed.It may just be me but it feels like there are a lot of Small Skippers around this year, more than I can recall seeing before. They are a tiny fluttery butterfly, almost moth-like, and easily missed except for the fact they are a golden orange.

Whether it was the atmospheric conditions or just the later date in the season, they were much more grounded, one even letting me take a photo with my camera from six inches away.

There are plenty of Ringlets and Gatekeepers too, so the warm dry summer seems to be benefitting the butterflies if nothing else.

This entry was posted in Invertebrates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I welcome thoughts, comments and questions, so please feel free to share anything at all. Thanks, David

